023Hello and thanks for stopping by. Some snippets about me (this is the “About Me” section after all) – my name is Kelly and while I originally hail from the great Dub Vee (West Virginia), I met my husband and started my family while living in Portland Oregon. After 11 years in Portland, we decided to get out and find some property to raise our kids on.

Speaking of my kids (Gavin, 4 and Emory Scout, 2.5), they think I’m a huge dork and my husband thinks I’m hopelessly un-cool. They are right on both counts. I love the following things: coffee, gardening, cooking, all things fermented (including wine), fresh air, cleaning, my crazy awesome kids and my husband (not necessarily in that order).

As noted above, our family is currently engaged in the process of starting up a family homestead: we uprooted from Portland a year and a half ago and put down roots in the Inland NW (north of Spokane WA, a stone’s throw from the Idaho border and just south of Canada). We live on a 21-acre piece of earth that generously offers up copious amounts of elderberries, stinging nettle, morels, and mullein, in and among the pines, cedars and larch, and we are trying to coax the land into supporting an orchard of apples, pears, plums, and cherries, in addition to our garden (the usual: tomatoes, potatoes, kale, peppers, herbs, artichokes . . . )

A colony of mason bees made the trip inland with us and serve as peaceful pollinators for the plants. Our first flock of chickens is just getting up and running, so we will soon be flush with homegrown eggs. We’re looking towards having some goats and alpacas join our family in the future. In the meantime, we are joined in the woods by coyotes, deer, elk, wolves, and of course – moose.

Contact me!